Thursday, October 22, 2009

Name:  Sarath Kumar
Born: July 14, 1954


                           Sarathkumar is an Indian film actor, politician, body builder and the current president of South Indian Film Artistes Association. He started his career in Tamil cinema playing negative roles, and later played minor roles in other movies. He was first chosen for the lead role in Suriyan which was a success at box-office. He mainly played the role of an honest cop. He also floated a new political party in Tamil Nadu to carry out the ideals of K. Kamarajar.

                                Sarathkumar has acted in six regional languages including English, Hindi, Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu and Kannada. He has received critical acclaim for his roles in the films Pulan Visaranai, Sooriyan, Naataamai, Suryavamsam, Natpukkaga and Cheran Pandian, "Pazhassi Raja".

Political Career:
                             Sarathkumar joined DMK in the year 1996. DMK fielded him in Tirunelveli Loksabha Constituency during 1998 parliamentary elections and he lost by small margin. In 2002,DMK made him a Rajyasabha member. He left DMK before 2006 Assembly elections owing to differences with Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi's family members.

                               He joined AIADMK along with his wife Radhika and campaigned vigorously for that party.His wife Radhika Sarathkumar was dismissed from AIADMK for anti party activities in October 2006. He also quit from AIADMK in November 2006 quoting his workload in Cine industry as a reason.

                            On 31 August 2007, Sarathkumar floated a new party named ['Akila Indiya Samathuva Makkal Katchi' He has vowed to bring back Kamarajar rule in Tamil Nadu. His party was humiliated with less than 1% votes in the Thirumangalam [Tamil Nadu,India] by-election.

                            He joined DMK in 1996 in order to defeat Jayalalitha. In 1998, Kalaignar asked Sarathkumar to contest Lok Sabha elections from Tirunelveli. In the election DMK lost very badly and the alliance could muster only 9 seats compared to the 40 seats it swept in 1996.Even though DMK lost badly in many constituencies, Sarathkumar was defeated by Kadambur.R.Janarthanan by a margin of only 6000 votes.

Womens Breast Health